Finding Ourselves on the Autism Spectrum

Share and Enjoy

Welcome.

Hi.  I’m Diane, and I’m a stay-at-home wife and mother of three boys.  My oldest is an Aspie, and I’ve recently come to believe that I am, too.  The rest of the family would probably be considered neurotypical, although they, too, have their issues.

I promised my middle son I’d give this title to my first blog post, since he came up with it himself.  He’s bright and creative and great at brainstorming.  For anyone who doesn’t know the reference of either the title of this blog or the post itself, they’re both from a book called The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy that’s a big favorite in our home.  I first read this book and the rest of the series back when I was in high school, and later I found myself saying “don’t panic” almost automatically to my firstborn baby boy each time he would go into a conniption upon experiencing some form of discomfort, which turned out to be a great deal of the time.  Little did I know then how that phrase would come to define our approach to life here on the Autism Spectrum.

The main character in the Hitchhiker’s book is called Arthur Dent, and early on in the story he finds himself out in space with no familiar frame of reference and relying on one good friend and an electronic archive of information compiled by all sorts of people to help him navigate his way through the unfamiliar challenges he’s facing.   The more I think about it, this is sounding very much like my experience since becoming aware of my oldest son’s position on the spectrum, and later, of what I believe to be my own position there.  My closest friend is my husband, who shares this adventure with me every day, and I’ve also gotten  much information, help, and support from the articles and blogs I’ve been able to access through the Internet.  I’ve broadened my horizons even more in commenting on other people’s blogs and articles when I’ve felt inspired to do so and in hearing what they have to say in return.  After years of isolation and confusion, I can finally communicate with people who are living through experiences similar to my own or at least as colorful.  

I was so pleased to find a blog theme full of color and actually called “Spectrum” when I started searching this morning.  Seems like a perfect fit, plus it keeps me from having to obsess over trying to choose from among too many other possibilities, which I could do for a ridiculously long time.  It’s one of the “spectrummy” things about me. More on that later.

(I got “spectrummy” from “Spectrummy Mummy’s Blog” and want to go ahead and give her credit, since it’s a word I like and find myself using a lot.)

Comments on: "Share and Enjoy" (12)

  1. Hi Diane,
    Welcome to bloggyland, just keep being you and you can’t go wrong. I look forward to getting to know you and your a lot better. I am adding you to my blogroll.
    Great post.
    Love and hugs new friend.
    Lisa. {{{hugs}}}
    xx 🙂

    • I just figured out how to reply 🙂 You are so kind and sweet. I feel so welcomed. Blogroll? Really? I’ve experienced an unusual amount of rejection in my life lately by, mostly as a result of sharing more than I usually do, and at first I reacted by wanting to run and hide and keep everything to myself. I decided to try moving in a different direction, and you make me feel like it was the right choice. Thank you so much.

      • My MOTO….I will share it with you!!!
        I AM Aspie-happy!
        I AM a multi-coloured Rainbow
        AND
        I TURN negativity upside down.
        ***
        Take all the crap that life has given you and use it to help all those little Aspie kids out there, who live through the internet.
        Love and hugs {{{hugs}}}
        xx 🙂

  2. Bless you and thank you. You are so supportive. My first ever “like”, and I will remember you forever.

    Diane

  3. Glad you are writing, and I really like the look of your blog. I posted about it, but it looks like you are already attracting readers. I look forward to getting to know you better through your blogging!

    • Thank you so much. That’s really kind of you. I had no idea I could get in touch with people this quickly. It’s a little scary, but mostly wonderful. You have inspired me so much to want to share the thoughts and feelings I’ve mostly kept to myself. Your bravery gives me more courage than I would have on my own. I’m so glad to be geting the chance to know you.

  4. Hi Diane,
    I learned of your new blog on Aspergirl Maybe’s blog.
    So glad to see you are blogging!
    Like this post and look forward to more.
    I’ll be adding you to my blogroll.
    Bruce 🙂

    • Hi, Bruce. It’s so great to hear from you. Blogroll already? You are all so supportive, and I am so grateful to be able to exchange ideas with such a truly caring, insightful, and supportive group of people. I am so happy to have met you and to have the chance to get to know you better and to share more of what’s going on with me. I feel more welcome and accepted than I can remember feeling anywhere ever. Thank you.

  5. Hi. I’m an aspie too. It’s nice to meet others who are also married and have children. You and all of your commenters seem so good at being friendly and social. I try to keep up with the aspie “community” but it is a challenge to fit in anywhere. I try. 🙂

    • Hi, Jess.

      It’s very nice to meet you. Thank you for the compliment. I only felt brave enough to give this a try because of the friendly comments and replies in this particular corner of the aspie blog community. I’ve just been over to visit your blog and left a comment there. I enjoyed reading your observations and thoughts and look forward to reading more. I also enjoy yoga and knitting, although I’m certainly not as experienced or accomplished at knitting as you are. I’m very glad you decided to stop by.

      Diane

  6. Hi Diane – well, I said I’d be back to read your posts 😀

    I’d never really heard of Aspergers in any detail before I met my good friend Lisa (AlienHippy) here in Bloggyland – her blog is amazing and a joy to read 😀

    Anyways, I’ve slowly started to question if I have some of the traits too…although I’ve put my ‘unusual’ maybe non-neurotypical behaviour down to the severe depression I’ve had for years. At the end of the day, we are who we are, and really we shouldn’t be labelled…there’s no normal/non-normal…we’re all just human. Having said that, having an understanding of who we are certainly helps us cope with things.

    Anyways, life is one big learning lesson and a joyful voyage of discovery. A lot like blogging really 😀

    Hope you have a great day. Chloe xx

    • Hi, Chloe.

      For some silly reason, your message ended up in my Spam folder. I agree that we’re all just people, and life is less about labels and more about understanding who we are.

      Good to hear from you. Hope you have a great day, too.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

